Keeping You In Stitches

Found a new group of Costa Rica amigas to knit with……

Posted on: May 27, 2017

L to R: Vera, Jean Marie, Mariam, 93 year old abuelita of Christina.

 

Disclaimer:  Not responsible if you wet your pants laughing!

The regular knitting group seemed to keep dwindling down.  I was a little bummed and thought maybe it was time to take a break from knitting.

2 weeks ago, I went to a baby shower for Cristina, who was my sewing teacher awhile back.  I was the only Gringa there.  But it was hilarious.  They speak Spanish so fast, just like we speak English fast.  I could get a word or two here and there but it was just a super fun time.

As usual, I was behind in knitting my gift. I was knitting a small baby blanket and didn’t have it quite done, so I put it unfinished in the gift bag with other things.

Tico time is so different.  The shower was from 1-4.  Of course I got lost getting there and thought I would be really late arriving at 1:30 p.m. Alas! I was the first one to arrive! LOL Others slowly arrived.  Altho, people were still arriving at 4:30 and 5:00 p.m.

While sitting there waiting for people to arrive, I decided to  get the baby blanket and keep knitting on it.  Mariam, Christina’s Tia (aunt), came over and watched and we tried to carry on a conversation regarding knitting.  She knitted too!  Then Doña Vera (taking quilting classes from Christina) sat down beside me  and joined in the conversation.  Doña Vera knows some English and it was a little easier to carry on a conversation with Mariam.  Christina came over to make sure she wasn’t needed for translating! LOL  Cristina said to me “Mariam wants to know if you could get together to knit sometime.”  Well, that’s all it took and we became best friends!

I suggested first I should take them to Penelope’s in Santa Ana, which is a nice yarn shop!  She high fived me on that!  Vera wanted to go and Cristina too. So we hit up the yarn shop and a fabric shop.  The owner of the fabric shop said no one had ever spent so much time in the store as we did!

Where to knit?  Decided we would knit at Cristina’s sewing shop and Vera could continue with her quilting.  It’s a mix of crafters!

Then Jean Marie wanted to know if she could come, so I said sure! (Gringa)

We are sitting around a table, knitting, laughing, etc., and all of a sudden the front door opened and in came Cristina’s 93 year old grandmother!  She sat down at the table with us and began hand sewing a hem  around what looked to me as a napkin.  I noticed that every once in awhile a smile came on her face.  Am sure she couldn’t keep up with what was being said because most of it was in Spanglish!  But she was happy to be with us! And we were happy she was with us.

Then Mariam went to Grandmother’s house and came back with 2 quilts that this woman had made.  She used fabric from clothes people were throwing away.  WOW!!!!  Jean Marie and I were really impressed.  Gives us a goal to reach 93 and still be active.

Can’t wait till the next knitting get together!  I left there so happy!!!

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

