Keeping You In Stitches

I am woman – hear me roar!

Posted on: January 13, 2016

Iamwoman

It’s been quite a stressful 10 days around our house trying to stay legal living in Costa Rica. All because of one man at the CAJA office who is on a power trip! For those not in the know, that’s our country-wide health system that we have to belong to, whether you use it or not.

Well “the Don” as I will refer to him, has decided that when you renew your carnet (the ID card for the health system) you now need to have your marriage license re-certified that Costa Rica Immigration has already certified as legal. Now “the Don” wants it apostilled. This requires sending it to the State of Michigan, where we were married, and haven’t lived for 44 years, to put this stamp on it certifying we are still married. We have lived in 5 different states and frankly, the State of Michigan has no clue if we are truly still married!

We met with our attorney here this morning and came up with three options.
1. Go back and try again and see if “the Don” is in a better mood.
2. Our attorney would type up a letter certifying we are who we say we are and are still married.
3. He could marry us here in Costa Rica and it would take up to 3 mos. to get listed in the National Registry. Our attorney said would require a new diamond ring!

We get a group rate through ARCR and it gets paid automatically, I could let it expire and buy my own medication here at the pharmacy. Most medications you can go in and buy over the counter without a prescription! Novel idea, huh?

On our way to CAJA, I had the crazy idea that since Mark went in last week, “the Don” may remember him so I would go in and try.

There was a Tica ahead of me trying to do the same thing and he sent her away with the paperwork that he gave Mark last week.

Now it’s my turn. I acted like I knew what I was doing – no small talk, etc. After all, a gal from Kentucky with “sweet southern charm” can explode too! I gave him Mark’s new cedula and old carnet and my new cedula and old carnet. I explained I needed the expiration dates on the carnets to match the dates on cedulas. He said absolutely nothing to me and began to process the paperwork.

Yep, I got the new carnets! Mark’s is good for 2 years, which matches his carnet; mine is only good for 1 year and does not match my carnet. I will wait till “the Don” is on vacation and go to the termporary person and explain that the date is wrong on my carnet and try to get it for 2 years.

Yessiree folks, I am woman, hear me roar!

MadNancyOr perhaps he didn’t feel like messing with the woman who looks so disgusted in the picture on her new cedula.

Seriously, I think you need to act like you know what you’re doing; not be trembling, etc. By the way, I was going to ask to speak to his boss, if he told me “no”. The ARCR group rate receipt for paying for this healthcare, states, that we have the same rights as Ticos do. So I was ready for a fight.

Luckily for Mark, it didn’t come to that – otherwise I might have been deported.

1 Response to "I am woman – hear me roar!"

[…] and I are not participating because she has hornswoggled her way around the system. That and the fact that she demanded a new “chocolate” diamond for the occasion. Since […]

Comments are closed.

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

