Keeping You In Stitches

Hard to believe I’ve lived in Costa Rica for 2 years!

Posted on: June 21, 2013

June 20th, I celebrated my second anniversary of calling Costa Rica home!  First of all, I can’t believe it’s been two years…guess time flies when you love where you are.

The reason I used “I’ve” in the title is Mark didn’t arrive until July 2.

I actually should have arrived in Costa Rica the day before; but I had to get a crazy letter from my Doctor…..those that need to know, know this…..so wasn’t able to fly until the following day.

My friend of many years, Cheryl Johnson, came with me.  She handled Sofi and I handled Oliver;  it was really exciting for me.

Flight was pretty non-eventful till we arrived in Costa Rica.  One of my bags didn’t make the flight!

Cheryl and I got the rental vehicle and headed to Bruce and Frances’.  That’s where my bag was to be delivered; and it started raining like crazy; just arriving here, rain, darkness and bright headlights, unfamiliar roads, etc. – that was a little unnerving.  However, it felt like home with the welcome we got from Bruce and Frances!

After awhile, the bag arrived and Frances insisted on guiding us to my new homestead; glad she did! For those that know the road we live on, arriving in the dark, raining, etc., it was nice to have tail lights to follow!

We came in and got settled and promptly headed to bed.  Cheryl got cracked up because I brought a rain gauge with me! But I knew the couple of weeks I was here before Mark, the first question would be “how much rain did you get today”!  And I was right, that was the first question, LOL…..and I was so happy I could tell him.

The first night of my life in my new home-land; 2 of my 4 dogs with me, a great friend to go on this adventure with me….that was the beginning of Pura Vida!

Two years and still loving it;  I keep reading about the people who don’t like it here after they’ve lived  here about this amount of time.  Mark and I moved a lot in the states and to me, it was just another move.  If you are going to move to another country to live, you have to realize you have left the U.S. behind – if you want it to be like the U.S., then don’t make the move!

We love the country, the weather and most of all the Tico people.  We’ve made friends with people from all over the world that have chosen to live here.

Life is what you make it….this is the first time we’ve gotten to choose where we live and for us, it’s been the right choice!!!

Pura Vida…..and year 3 begins!

 

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

