Keeping You In Stitches

New Year’s Eve in Costa Rica

Posted on: December 31, 2012

Our second New Year’s Eve in Costa Rica!  Can hardly believe we’ve been living here for over a year and a half!  And lots and lots of things have happened in that year and a half.

We really do enjoy it here; what’s not too like – while my friends in FL, yes, FL, and KY are freezing, we have the windows and doors open with a balmy breeze blowing through the house; yesterday was a “bad” day with the December winds – we’ve got more dirt, leaves, etc. than ever – IN THE HOUSE! LOL  Sure hope Maricela shows up today to clean.

In early December, I saw the dermatologist.  He “froze” 26 spots on my face and upper chest.  I’m telling myself that for a week or so I looked like I was covered with beauty marks, ie: Marilyn Monroe style.  Hey! It’s my mind and I can tell myself whatever I want.

Back in the old country when something was removed by a medical professional, we had the understanding that things would be removed by pounds; 1 lb. minimum; preferably by 2 lbs. at a time.  I’m sad to report that these 26 beauty marks only  removed .1 pounds.  I see him again in February and we’ll be having a discussion regarding this.

Lots of resolutions for the upcoming New Year.

1. I am truly giving up Pepsi!  This will be difficult but I know I can do it….the past couple of months I could go without it for a week or so; and then I’d cave in a buy Pepsi.  It’s a big acid reflux cause for me!  Altho’ I’m happy to admit that my 1820 coffee doesn’t cause any reflux problems; am afraid to try any other coffee because I’m happy with 1820.

2.  I will definitely get a least one Christmas present made or purchased a month for Christmas 2013!  None of this stress and panic like I felt this year.  And I still haven’t completed my shipping or purchasing for Christmas 2012!  Hmmm, maybe I could just ship stuff now and say “Merry Early Christmas 2013” – keep this till December and put it under your tree.  Just a thought…

3. Get my sewing room organized!  Maricela is a good organizer so I think when the girls go back to school, she and I will get in there and tackle this.

4. I’m going to keep count of the people that I give rides to into town; that’s just part of my “Pay it forward”.

5. We will go visit some sites in Costa Rica – need to find someone to come to the house and stay with the dogs; it will be easier on them and us! LOL

6.  Work on my Spanish…I know the words, I just can’t get them into sentences!  Anyone that has young kids in their lives, have them learn Spanish!  It’s so much easier when you’re younger than at our age!

That’s enough for now….but I might add some other resolutions later.

Took a break and fixed Maricela and the girls some breakfast. Dylana, Nazareth and I are headed into town in a few minutes.  They are so good when I take them to town!  Don’t beg or whine for a thing!

Adios for now and Feliz Anos Nuevo!

4 Responses to "New Year’s Eve in Costa Rica"

We are happy to see that you guys are happy and secure in the decision to move to CR. That was huge and courageous and not many could deal with it so well. You are amazing to us. I am envious that your Spanish will naturally improve ( no matter how much you do or don’t study) as you have built-in mentors all around you. And, look at the cooking skills you will acquire! And the culture you are absorbing. 2013 is going to be a wonderful year for you because you MAKE it happen.

Thanks Roy and Connie – we really do like it here but we also realize it’s not for everyone! LOL

I’ll dogsit. NP. And we’ll have months, this time, in which to pick dates! Yahoo! Just do not eat bad fish on your travels. See you in a few days (10 days, but who’s counting?).

May take you up on it Jonny!

Comments are closed.

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

