Keeping You In Stitches

Back home again in Costa Rica!

Posted on: October 24, 2012

“Sung to the tune of  “Back Home Again in Indiana”)

What a whirlwind I had in the old country!  My neck hurts from whiplash….going here and going there! BUT….I did not get all my shopping done, even after buying two more suitcases!

I had a WONDERFUL time and it was so fun to see all my friends!!!!  I ended up subbing on Weds. morning for a friend in bowling and had the best fun!!!  I do miss my my bowling, bowling friends, and all the fun we used to have!!!!  I hope they are having a bewitching Halloween bowling day today!!!

Thursday morning, I was so sore! LOL  Kept telling Terri that if my left side would have been that sore, I would be in the ER wondering if I was having a heart attack!  Soreness was gone by Friday, tho’.

The wedding Saturday was absolutely beautiful!!! And to think the bride made all the floral arrangements – bouquets, etc. I wish KateLynn and Neal and wonderful and fun-filled marriage!

Monday, Velma and I headed to Atlanta to start the trek back to Costa Rica.  Great time on the drive, stopping at Cracker Barrel restaurants and buying!  LOL Never did eat there.

Returned the car to the rental lot at the Atlanta Airport.  Then she and I had to drag the damn suitcases all over GA to get to where the hotel shuttles were.  Apparently, this airport does not believe in Skycaps!  We never did find one!!!  And other’s were complaining about it too.  And this airport also does not believe in hiring knowledgeable employees!  Had trouble finding Zone 3 and the only directions we could get were – “hmm, there’s Zone 2, it must be somewhere over there!”  Keep in mind, we are old ladies with too many suitcases to drag around! LOL  I felt like we might have been on Candid Camera!

Finally got to the hotel…..took about 5 hours to drive to Atlanta and almost 3 hours to get to the hotel from the friggin’ airport!

When we arrived, I told Velma if we were going to eat dinner, it had to be now, because I was going to take a shower and put the “jammies” on and wasn’t going out again! So we headed to the most pathetic restaurant in Atlanta! LOL  In the hotel!!!

Pretty much we both just picked at our meals and then headed back to the room.  Turned on the debate and I said, I’ve had enough of this…so it was lights out!

At 11:30 p.m. I asked her if she was still awake, and she was.  At 2:10 a.m., I asked her if she was awake, and she was….I said “let’s just get up and go to the airport”.  She said, “let’s “sleep” till 2:30 a.m.!”  LOL  So we got up, packed up and headed to the airport.  Actually, we were the only one’s on the shuttle!

Arrived at the airport and again “no skycaps” – the driver couldn’t believe it!  So he and his friend helped us get all luggage to the counter…we were first in line.  Glad they had left the scales “turned on”, because we did lots of shifting of luggage contents in order to be within the weight limit.  Glad we had that time to do it….

Getting on the last flight from Fort Lauderdale to San Jose, Costa Rica….was another nightmare!  While standing in the jet way to board the plane, I bent down to pick up my carry on suitcase, and the JERK in front of me swung around, hitting my frameless glasses and yep, you guessed it, broke them!  I was genuinely PISSED!  This is the second pair of glasses that have been broken on this trip….if you recall, I stepped on the transitional “lenses” glasses the first morning in the Old Country!

Arrived home and we were both exhausted! LOL

Saw Dra. Victoria and she “jury-rigged” my glasses to get me through a couple of days….will be heading into town shortly and take her the 1st broken pair and see if they can be fixed, I imagine I’ll need new frames!  Hope she has some in stock that will fit the lenses!  Then the wireless one’s will have to be sent to San Jose to be repaired.

All in all, my trip was great and I realize how many wonderful friends I have in the old country!  But I do admit, I sure love being home!

………

While watching a little TV last night, the house started shaking! Mark yells “earthquake”….and Velma screamed!!!  Joni has assured me that was her welcome to Velma! LOL  Just a little 6.6 earthquake.  Ah….Back Home Again in Costa Rica!

Pura Vida!

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

