Keeping You In Stitches

Learning Spanish, the Costa Rican way

Posted on: July 22, 2012

Tom, Lee, Mark and I have ventured on the quest to learn Spanish. Yesterday was our first class.

William, from La Garita, who is a linguist teacher, is assisting us….

OH MY!   We have our work cut out for us!

But, there’s no pressure, he’s very patient, has a sense of humor and most of all, I felt like I have already learned something.

Yep, we’ve got homework – which is just practicing.  If you don’t try to use it, you cannot learn it! Yep, we’ll make mistakes, laugh about it, and carry on.

If anyone is interested in joining us, that would be great.  It’s $5/hr. – we meet for 2 hours weekly.

Tom and Lee have graciously offered to host it at their house.  William will be more than happy to meet with you to bring you up to “snuff” with our first class…..or if you’d like to just sit in on the class, to see how it works and how he works, you’re more than willing to do this too.  This is how we “found” him!

For the next 3 weeks, we’re meeting at 10 a.m. – noon.

Let me know if you’d like to join us or sit in on a class…..

Yep, we’re off and running with Spanish!

 

Pura Vida!

2 Responses to "Learning Spanish, the Costa Rican way"

I am enjoying your blog. I am a retired Spanish teacher in the USA and I love Costa Rica. You have to make thousands of mistakes to actually use a new language. Don’t be afraid to be wrong. Just keep trying including drawing pictures, pointing and pantomime until you communicate. Good luck!

Thanks! I need all the encouragement I can get! LOL It’s just not as easy as when I was younger. We love Costa Rica and feel like we have died and gone to heaven! We have Tico neighbors with 2 young girls and they love to come to our house; we’re able to communicate with lots of gesturing and good ole Google translate on my iphone! Thanks for reading my blog! Nancy

Comments are closed.

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

