Keeping You In Stitches

What a difference a day makes!

Posted on: May 4, 2012

A friend of ours, Jonny, offered to sit with the dogs while Mark and I took a little trip to Manuel Antonio – we were going to be gone two nights and three days!

Left a little before noon on Tuesday, which was a holiday here. Traffic was light and we were excited to finally get away for a bit.

Arrived in Manuel Antonio and found the Vela-Bar, where we had booked two nights. While the pictures on the internet looked great, it was a little disappointing. Especially, when the a/c didn’t work! It’s unbearably humid on the west coast, miserable, would probably be a better word.

After complaining to the front desk and being told someone would be there in 10 minutes to repair it, we were pleasantly surprised when, in fact, in 10 minutes someone was there. Ahhhh, relief, it worked – at least we would be able to sleep well.

Walked approximately 200 meters to the beach. During this time, sprinkles of rain started and by the time we got there, it was a real gully-washer. So we found a place to get something to drink and waited for the rain to pass.

Wasn’t too long and we were walking on the beach. Man, the sand here sticks to you! Walked a little in the very warm water – which is much warmer than our pool!!! Told Mark I wanted the pool to be this warm.

Had a nice dinner of sea bass next to the hotel. The hotel did have a restaurant but it was pretty expensive. In fact, we found the food in this area to be really expensive compared to our little town of Atenas! But it was very good and we were serenaded by tree frogs during the meal.

Next morning we got up and headed to the park. Holy crap, was it humid and hot! I know, it’s a rain forest and we’ve been in a rain forest before, but I guess we had forgotten about the miserable humidity. Mark was the big complainer of it – I just kept plugging along.

Saw lots and I mean lots of monkeys romping through the trees. Then we happened upon a tour group looking upward and discovered a mother toucan going into and out of a hole in the top of the tree feeding her babies. Too far away to get a decent picture.

After walking a little further, Mark said, I’ve had it. We’ve seen this stuff before so we headed back to the hotel. Went next door again for a breakfast that was super! Slice of fresh pineapple, watermelon, papaya, slices of banana and a pancake were served first; then we had scrambled eggs and bread with gallo pinto – all for $4/each. It was really good – especially the pineapple; you can’t beat fresh pineapple here.

Then back to the room to get on bathing suits and head to the beach. Much, much cooler at the beach because of the breezes; but it was still hot. Saw lots of surfers and really enjoyed watching them. How they keep from hitting each other or others romping in the surf is beyond me! Saw a really cute boy, long dark hair, about 5 years old walking to the water with his boogie board under his arms….the next generation of surfers is already in the works.

Started to drizzle a little and we headed back to the room for showers and to go dinner. Walked back down to the beach and hit a 2 for 1 happy hour (do we plan or what) and then ordered dinner. I had the most wonder huge shrimp and two pieces of mahi mahi and a baked potato with steamed veggies. Had a wonderful white sauce on it; it was very, very good and should have been for the price. Mark had burritos.

Got back to the room and was exhausted; it’s extremely exhausting doing what we did that day. LOL! You know walking, eating, drinking, and beaching it!

Mark watched some TV and I decided to head to bed and read. Fell asleep too quickly; no idea what time it was when I woke up to an really, really upset stomach. Just made it to the bathroom before the vomiting started. Mark heard me and got up – he’s such a good caretaker! He stood with his arms around me as I barfed in the sink, because I couldn’t make it to the toilet. Each time he made a comment: “Oh, my God!”, “you poor thing”, “how much more can there be”……I was up and down the whole night vomiting….it was horrible.

Hadn’t planned on heading for home so early but because of the night, we decided it was best. Going through Quepos, Mark pulled over at Linea Vitale (a clinic) because he wanted me looked at. I have a major history of dehydrating easily! Went in the office and was immediately taken to a cubicle.

As they were taking vitals, Dra. Candy walked in and said to Mark, I know you! And then she looked at me; her famous words to me are “steck out your tongue” (and yes, I meant to spell it that way because that’s how she says it!) You are dehydrated! But we will fix you up. Then she started to tell the Dr. treating me what meds I was on….is she good or what?

Then she wanted to know what I had eaten the night before….told her and she said “you had bad fish”….but it was sooo good! So after getting a bag of fluid, a shot to stop the queasiness on the ride home, off we went.

I slept off and on most of the way! It was a quick ride home for me….

It was so cute when we pulled up to our drive, there was Sofi waiting at the door of the gate, Sedona waiting a little behind Sofi, and Derby waiting behind Sedona. Missed that Kodak moment, because all I could think of was getting into my own bed.

Slept most of the afternoon. Mark fixed me a sandwich for dinner and it stayed down…and I actually felt a little better after eating something. Only residuals were my eyes were burning like they were on fire and a very sore throat.

But I’m pleased to say I was able to stay awake and watch Missing, Grey’s Anatomy, and Scandal.

Slept well, and feel like a new woman!

People that live on the coast can have it….to friggin’ hot, too expensive to run a/c, and the food is over-priced compared to Atenas.

Glad to be home and thanks to Jonny for taking such good care of the dogs!!!

Adios for now….

Pura Vida!

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

