Keeping You In Stitches

Not for the faint of heart.

Posted on: February 3, 2012

Yesterday was my appointment in San Jose to have pictures taken of the nevus on my retina.  Talk about efficiency!

Appointment was for 2 p.m. and we arrived about 10 minutes till 2.  Checked in at the reception desk and sat in the lobby/waiting room.  In a few minutes the receptionist came over and put the drops in my eyes.  These drops dilate to the max….and yes, they burn.  After about 10 minutes, she came back and put in more drops.  Mark said there was very little of my baby blues showing.  And he added, it’s creepy looking!

The Dr. called me back and immediately began to take pictures.  At first he was having difficulty finding my precious nevus.

After taking a series of shots and not liking them, he began to take another series of shots; we could see the photos on the computer.  When he was satisfied with the pictures, he began printing them.  I have 2 8 x 10’s and a CD of the series of what he took.  This is my retina and the nevus is the dark side of the moon! LOL  It’s the dark part on the L of the photo.  Not sure what the “blistery” looking thing is on the right side.

He said it looked “good” – meaning no hemorrhaging around the edges.  I’ve been told that if there is any growth, there are no ifs, ands, or buts, it will be malignant!  YIKES!

All of this took 45 minutes!  And we were out the door.  I think this would have been an all morning or all afternoon procedure in the U.S.  And it was $114!  I know that my retinologist in the U.S. charged way more than that just for the appointment!

Again, I am impressed that doing something like this is NOT an all day thing.

Another adventure accomplished.

Pura Vida…….

 

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

