Keeping You In Stitches

Our First Annual “First day of Christmas” get together

Posted on: December 15, 2011

Tuesday, December 13th, we hosted our first annual First Day of Christmas get together!  Even tho’ the weather was gloomy, everyone’s attendance certainly brightened it up! And neither of us happened to get pics!

I don’t quite understand, but people were marveling over the fact that I brought Christmas decor with me; my feelings were, December 25th is Christmas and always will be for me.  Yes, I most definitely brought too many “things” with me, but my Christmas decorations, etc. are important, and there was no way those were getting left behind!  Even tho’ I still haven’t found all I brought!

Perhaps two full sized decorated Christmas trees within 6 feet of each other was a tad much; but one is inside and one is outside.

Had 16 new friends attend from all over the U.S.  It was a nice group of people and according to comments, “we had such a nice time.”

Lots of drinks and snacks – and yes, it was all dietary and good for you….well, at least it was good! LOL  I bought some bread-like-cake dessert and made a whiskey sauce to put over it; it reminded me of being in New Orleans and having bread pudding!  It was delish!!!

We were a little nervous about how the dogs would react with so many people wandering around.  They were perfect!!!  No growling, etc.  Of course, Sofi’s feet hardly touched the ground!  But everyone made over Derby and Sedona too.  At one point, Sedona walked into her crate and laid down and began munching on a chew toy.  Her crate was right in the middle of all the hub-bub.  She has her “bitch moments” as we all do, but she sure was good on Tuesday evening!

All of a sudden we started hearing mooing…..yep, the cows got loose!  Guess they felt left out because they weren’t invited!  And there was a horse in the lot next to us wandering around.  I, of course, thought it was hysterical….I’m sure other people were appalled, but come on, this is Costa Rica, Pura Vida, everything that happens is OK!  I love watching the cows wander when they are loose; they are huge and oblivious to their surroundings.

This was the first time a lot of people had been to our house….as they are getting out of their vehicles, the comment heard was “how in the world did you find this place?”  But we had lots of nice comments on our addition.

Yes, I miss my friends in the U.S., but you know what, this is starting to feel like home!  I can’t wait till people start coming down to see what living in Costa Rica is like!  First group  arrives in January!  I’m so excited, I can’t stand it!!!

Weds. we drove to San Jose to pick up a box of dog pill pockets, etc.  Guess it got flagged because the box was from Drs. Foster and Smith, an animal place….pill pockets are unheard of in Costa Rica.  And we had to pay a customs fee of 800 colones (approximately $1.60 in US money).  Got home a little before 5 p.m. and had to hurriedly get ready to go to a wine tasting.  It was fun….lucky for us, we were at a table of 3 young couples; the three men were involved in a school where rich parents send their kids who are “lost”.  Some have had multiple parents, gotten mixed in the wrong crowd, etc.  We were with Pat and John, and the new school they are building is very near them!  One of the couples inquired about this house when it was for sale and were told “it’s been sold.”  Yippie for us!!!

Tonight is another big to-do hosted by our attorney.  Something going on 3 days in a row, is a bit much for us to handle (LOL), but we’re trying our darndest to stay awake for all these things!

Still kind of hard to believe it’s almost Christmas with doors and windows wide open!  We love it!!!!  No a/c bills or heating bills….

Wishing all my readers and friends have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Adios for now and Pura Vida!

 

 

 

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

