Keeping You In Stitches

In Costa Rica…beginning to feel like home, almost!

Posted on: July 10, 2011

I’ve been in Costa Rica since June 21 with Oliver and Sofi; Cheryl, friend from IL, came with me.  We spent a whirlwind 2 weeks, looking for a car, going to the Farmer’s Market (Feria) on Friday morning(s).  Have been to the every Friday I’ve been here.  Not sure what a lot of the “stuff” is, but eventually, we’ll try it.

Mark and Derby and Sedona arrived on July 2 at 5:30 a.m.!!!  Everyone is settling in pretty well considering the shell shock!

Cheryl left on July 6.

We finally found a vehicle, a 1999 Mitsubishi Montero Sport LX, and yada yada yada!  Found it last Friday; went to the attorney’s office…go figure, in Costa Rica it takes an attorney to purchase a car!  Can you imagine the backlog if that was the case in the US?

Have to go back to Grecia tomorrow morning to sign more papers at the attorney’s office and hopefully, by Thursday we should have our brand new old car! LMAO

Today we took an adventure and drove to Puriscal and to see the beach…it’s dirty looking sand and nothing to write home about…this is the Pacific side of Costa Rica. Stopped at some “fruta” markets and bought watermelon and pineapple.

When people visit us, I’m taking them to a nursery (vivero) and have them pick out something for my friend’s garden I’m making.  That way, I won’t feel that you’re so far away!  Cheryl picked out a lemon (limon) tree for me to plant…all of $2 and about 4 ft. tall!  The first person we met here were the people from the animal shelter, and I asked Frances to pick out something for my garden too…she chose oregano, saying it needed to be something useful.  So my garden is beginning….

Have also purchased two  gorgeous orchids…..and silly me put one in a pot, forgetting that they go in the ground here.  Oh well, they still look pretty.

Still learning our way around the customs, etc…and of course, the language!a

Adios for now Amigas….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to "In Costa Rica…beginning to feel like home, almost!"

She meant to say Punterenas, not Puriscal. 🙂

How exciting! Sounds like your getting things in order. Just wait till the freight arrives, haha. I love the idea of your special garden. That is so cool. Nancy I can’t wait till you have internet service and a good phone number that I can call you on. Send pictures when you can. I miss you.

Comments are closed.

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

