Keeping You In Stitches

Barfing my way across the USA – Oak Alley Plantation – Chapter 3

Posted on: August 27, 2009

oakalley2

Famous and infamous, Oak Alley Plantation is located between New Orleans and Baton Rouge, LA.  It is one of the most impressive plantations to vist.  It was built in 1839.  And I, dear readers, had the distinct pleasure of being offered the “staff” restroom to barf in.

Where I used to work was a hoot!  We did lots of good things in the office for people, while relieving our stress by taking “girl trips”.  Once in a while on these trips, a guy in the office tagged along.  We have even been known to fly to New Orleans for the day and return home that night!

One great trip we took was to New Orleans, visiting all the great historic sites, not just the baudry of Bourbon Street.

Our first site seeing trip was to the plantation of Oak Alley.  We arrived at the plantation in our best finery – boas!  I wore a red boa because I was the tour guide of our group.  While we were waiting for our tour to begin….the stomach started to get queasy….oh Lord, I was going to barf in an historic plantation in front of “millions” of people – what was I going to do?

I gave my boa a toss over the shoulder and headed for a real tour guide – explaining my situation – of which she promptly tried to direct me to a public restroom in the souvenir building!  I frantically tried to explain, there was no way I was going to make it that far…grabbing my stomach.  She immediately went into “fast, frantic mode” and showed me the restroom that the staff used…..as a friend that was with me said….”all I saw was the red boa tossed over your shoulder, you making a mad, frantic dash and a door quickly closing”.

I wish I could figure out what is causing these stupid episodes…it’s embarrassing and some day, I’m not going to make it to a private area to barf!

After a few minutes in the staff restroom, and splashing water on my face, my pulse points, etc., I came out of the restroom with my head held high.  And lo and behold there was a friend, Connie, waiting for me….she’ll never know what a welcome sight she was.

Continued on the tour of the plantation and had a wonderful trip the rest of the time – took a night time ghost tour, tour of a cemetary – oh, my gosh…..in the cemetary there was a gravestone with the name Mark (my hubby’s name) and his birthdate (month and day, duh!, not the year!) and his wife was named Nancy (my name) with my birthdate. When people sometimes say “they froze in time”….well I know what they mean, because I stood there with goosebumps and could only gulp.  It was a freaky moment for me!  Does that mean in a before life we were married?

Stay tuned for tomorrow’s chapter located somewhere in the west – can you guess where?

5 Responses to "Barfing my way across the USA – Oak Alley Plantation – Chapter 3"

[…] She wrote today about barfing at Oak Alley Plantation. Famous and infamous, Oak Alley Plantation is located between New Orleans and Baton Rouge, LA.  It is one of the most impressive plantations to vist.  It was built in 1839.  And I, dear readers, had the distinct pleasure of being offered the “staff” restroom to barf in. You might like these also:Somebody's Bored, and You Benefit. Barfing My Way Across the USA – Disney WorldBarfing Her Way Across the U.S.A. – Ft. Myers EditionHave You Ever Read a Book As It's Being Written?You're Going to Have to Pick it Up a Notch. I'm Kara DioGuardi's New Friend, and Alley Kirstie Just Tweeted MeWorld’s Oldest Bowler? I’m Not Impressed. Bookmark It This entry was posted on Thursday, August 27th, 2009 at 8:08 am and is filed under Blogging. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. […]

What the heck kind of comment was that? I think someone needs to have alittle more compasion with himself and just imagine if it were he who were laid up for weeks after a surgery, having alot of restrictions put on you and this being said to a woman who never sits still for a moments time. Well now that’s not the truth, I’ll back up, she sits still while she knits, but you know what I mean. I personally am enjoying the read of her adventure’s across America and I am turely dumbfounded on the reason behind her barfing. Imagine if it were you…..

I am truly enjoying your travelogue / digestive dialogue. Come to Dallas with me Thanksgiving!! I’ll hold your hair back.

Gosh those were wonderful trips. I have fond memories. And for those of you who are not familiar, yes, I am the imfamous “Connie” in the story! Oh so many, many stories from those trips. Remember Daniel in the airport and almost being thrown off the plane–and leaving him on the side of the road going home. If not for me, he would have been … Read Moreleft alone in the Volunteer State. Good times, good times. I can attest that Nancy has thrown up in some of the coolest places in the US and I’ve been honored to be with her in some of them!

I remember that cemetery tour. And, yes, I am the Daniel that Nancy tried to leave on the side of the road on our return trip from the Nashville airport.

Comments are closed.

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

