Keeping You In Stitches

Best darn gift shop in the US!

Posted on: December 3, 2007

  • In: Uncategorized
  • Comments Off on Best darn gift shop in the US!

giftshop.jpeg

My husband turned 60 the Saturday after Thanksgiving and decided he would like to spend it with our daughter and son-in-law who just happen to live in Ft. Myers, FL!  I was a little apprehensive about what kind of a dinner we would have because it’s a standard thing on Thanksgiving morning to receive 4-5 phone calls regarding what do I put in the stuffing, how long do I cook this, can I put this in that, well, you get the picture!  We flew down there on Thanksgiving Day – very smooth, crowds not too bad and even arrived in Ft. Myers early!

Oh yeah, when we arrived at the airport and I turned on my phone, there were 3 questions for me regarding the above paragraph!  Had a big laugh out of that!!!  Told my husband I wasn’t quite sure what we were going to find when we arrived at their house. 

WOW! Did it ever smell good when we walked in!!!  Anyway, we had wonderful appetizers, etc. – the meal was wonderful!

It’s a standard joke that I love to shop at the gift shop at Lee Memorial Hospital, which is only  about a half a block from where they live. The name of it is Bright Ideas.  Ten years ago, Amy had a brain aneurysm rupture and this is the hospital she spent a long time in for rehab, which is how I found this absolutely wonderful gift shop! 

Friday morning I decided to walk over to the gift shop.  My husband decided to walk with me.  We walked in and they were putting out Christmas things.  He announced that we were there for the Black Friday sale.  The lady putting out the merchandise just laughed and said we don’t do that here.  Then I started talking to her and explaining how I always shop there when I’m visiting, etc.  After a while, she came up to me and said there’s a sale starting Dec. 13th.  I informed her that I had to head home the following Tuesday and wouldn’t be there.  She said she would give me the sale prices since I wouldn’t be there!  Isn’t that what we women are all about, sales, sales, sales!

Well, I bought so much I had to ship a large box home of stuff!  After paying the shipping cost, not quite sure how much I saved! But in my little pea brain, it was very worth my while!!!

Weather was wonderful while we were there and it was hard to come home to cold weather. 

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

Categories

