Keeping You In Stitches

WOW! Just 3 little stitches and the trigger finger is fixed…

Posted on: April 12, 2009

trigger

Two weeks or so ago, I finally gave in and made an appointment because my “pointer” no longer wanted to cooperate with my brain waves.  I was given and most excruciating shot I have ever endured in the hand. Made me feel sick to my stomach, burned like crazy, etc….yes, it’s worse than a spinal for delivery purposes!

Went back 2 weeks later, which was last Thursday.  Was told by the doc that it should be 100% better by then or we would have to look at other options.  Well, people, it wasn’t any better!

Was told that I two options: 1) a brace for 6 weeks to see if that made a difference

                                                          2) surgery

In pondering what to do….a brace for 6 weeks with no guarantee and still may need surgery, which would make it deep into golf season, or surgery immediately.  I chose immediately! Which meant, the following morning.

Assured it was a simple procedure with immediate relief – it was; except for becoming sick after arriving home and upchucking for 10 hours after surgery.

Took the bandage off today.  Still have the Drs. marking and his initials.  There is immediate relief – it’s a little tender to make a fist because of where the stitches are…but you know what…I’m going to be playing golf in a couple of weeks – worth it in my book; stitches out in 10 days and will probably have photos of that too….ahhh….my medical journal! I’m hoping to be picked up in the AMJ!

8 Responses to "WOW! Just 3 little stitches and the trigger finger is fixed…"

Hi, want to know how long you had the bandage on after the surgery. Its been 4 days since my surgery. I have a big bandage on my palm/fingers. I go back to the doc in a week to remove bandage and stitches However between my fingers is very itchy and sore because of the bandage and am wondering if the bandage cannot be removed earlier.

I was able to remove the bandage on the third day; had stitches removed on the 10th day.

However, my finger still swells and gets stiff/sore. Doc told me that the interior swelling could take 6 weeks to go down to normal. I can certainly tell if it’s going to rain.

My stitches were in the large “crack” in my hand between thumb and forefinger.

I am a musician; more specifically I play viola. I also have trigger finger in my left hand. I am 23 years old. I have been referred to an orthopedic surgeon but have not gone yet. I am considering surgery over the injections because I know they can be more painful than the actual problem itself and are not permanent. I fear that because I am as young as I am and the fact that I am a musician, with prolonged use, abuse, and overuse of my left hand that this problem is very likely to re-present itself in the future. Reading your experience is definitely having an impact on my decision. How is your hand now that it has been a few months? Any tenderness or other issues? I know there will be a recovery time as there is with any surgery, and all people are different, but about how long was it before you had full use of your hand and finger. As a musician, this is also a key factor.

About six weeks ago, my fourth finger on my right hand began to develop into a trigger finger. At first it was a minor problem, but it continued to get worse until I couldn’t stand it any more. I decided to have it remedied.

I had the trigger finger release surgery on Thursday. I opted for a local anesthetic, which entailed two shots of Lidocaine. The injections hurt, but the finger and area near the incision site were numb in seconds. The procedure took about five minutes.

My hand was bandaged-up, and I drove myself home. I was using may hand immediately. I was able to tie my shoes much easier with the bandaged hand than before the procedure. It was difficult using the computer mouse, but I was able to manage.

The next day, I had the bandage removed by a nurse at the doctor’s office. She cleaned the incision and sutures with peroxide, and applied band-aid.

It is now three days later and I have full use of my hand. I will have the sutures removed on Friday, eight days after the procedure.

My only complaint is that I was given a prescription for Vicodin. I took one and was nauseated for eighteen hours.

I’m very happy and satisfied that I submitted to the procedure.

[...] finger releaseTrigger Finger Syndrome: Non-Invasive Approach to TreatmentTrigger Finger and RSI?WOW! Just 3 little stitches and the trigger finger is fixed… // var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-398952-40']); [...]

[...] */ WOW! Just 3 little stitches and the trigger finger is fixed… // var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-398952-40']); [...]

What type bandage did you have on after surgery?

Just a small wrap around the hand.

Leave a Reply

VOTE HERE! Bunco Women Gone Wild

a

RSS Get Stitches by RSS Reader

  • Another adventure yesterday in Costa Rica July 14, 2014
    Thursday is a Beach Day and I decided I needed to have a hat that would cover my face – more than a baseball cap would. Asked Denise and Michele if they would like to go to MultiPlaza on Sunday; they agreed to go. Spent most of the day there….yes, during the World Cup, we […]
    keepingyouinstitches
  • Renewed our drivers’ licenses – EASY PEASY! July 7, 2014
    Left about 9 a.m. this morning to drive to San Ramon to renew our drivers’ licenses. San Ramon is higher up in the mountains and it was much cooler; am sure if we lived there, we would wear long pants and long sleeves sometimes. We went with our Passports, copies of our Passports, and our […]
    keepingyouinstitches
  • Decided to celebrate my birthday the whole month of July! July 4, 2014
    Woke up on July 1 with birthday greetings from my alma mater, Western Michigan University.  The football coach wished “me” birthday greetings even tho’ my birthday isn’t till July 31!  I’m figuring everyone from WKU with a birthday in July got the same greeting.  I am not a US football fan, so the “excitement” of […]
    keepingyouinstitches
  • A letter to Paypal….. June 11, 2014
    Dear Paypal….. I live in Costa Rica; it is in Central America; it is part of the real world!!! I’m wondering how many merchants that use Paypal are aware that they may say “ship worldwide”; but when I try to purchase something and have it shipped to Costa Rica, I get a notice saying “Paypal […]
    keepingyouinstitches
  • Another busy day….. June 2, 2014
    Up early this morning and thinking about Bingo on June 14th.   Everyone takes a prize for the table for those lucky enough to Bingo…..we have yet to Bingo!  Decided I would do dish towels, everyone can use them, right? One for every day of the week! My metal drying rack “died” because of the […]
    keepingyouinstitches
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 974 other followers

